top of page

Horror Bites - Slasher Party



As an unwritten rule for myself, I try not to talk about spoilers in my reviews. I think, as a viewer of movies, you should see the films for yourself with all their surprises in store. This lets you make a proper decision about how bad it really is. When it comes to Slasher Party, the most interesting aspect is the reveal of the villain. So, what's a reviewer to do? *Sigh* I am going to say this once...


***SPOILERS AHEAD***


Slasher Party is about a group of low end "influencers" ugh, that word makes my mouth feel dirty for saying it, and a weird party they go to to be murdered. They don't know that murder is on the menu until past the halfway point of the movie, but it's there, it's coming for them. A smiley-faced masked person is murdering them as they wander the empty house and do coke, swear, take selfies and be general nuisances. So, in this case, the murder is almost welcome. Except it's still hard to enjoy a movie where everyone is an asshole in it. I understand the concept of the "They have it coming" style of slasher. But, without anyone to root for, it's hard to stay interested.


For the most part, the movie flies on slasher style autopilot until the final reveal of the killer. So here's me, sitting on my couch looking into the face of the one and only Danny Trejo. I say to myself, "Ha, Danny Trejo is the killer, haha." Thinking he would be playing some random person somehow connected to all the characters. Until the characters actually recognize him as Danny Trejo. HA! It's some ridiculous plot about old Hollywood hating the influencers and the shit they pull, but that doesn't matter. The idea that Trejo is not in character is way too fun not to talk about. It's also a spoiler and the only good thing in the film, so I needed to talk about it. I half expected to the leftover influencers to just give up and let Trejo off them as long as he posted their deaths to their "Insta Reels."


The problem is, other than that reveal, Slasher Party is a slow slog that tells us what we already know, influencers are a blight on creation. They are so annoying and hard to watch that I don't even care if they're murdered. If you want the killer to succeed in a slasher film, it makes the whole thing kind of moot.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page