top of page

Horror Bites - Ghost Team One



So...


This was a comedy. At least it was put in the comedy genre, as well as the horror one when I looked it up. Now, I understand that comedy is subjective. So, if you howled with laughter as the word boner was said for the umpteenth time, then you are a less grumpy old man than I, and probably live a happier life. As for me, I found myself stonefaced throughout the film. Wait, that's not true. I did chuckle a few times at the raged out roommate who was trying to stay sober and expressed this fact in angry threats. All the rest of the jokes were about two guys fighting over a girl they barely know and boners. Every type of boner there is. There were jokes about pre-boners, ready to go boners, spent boners, boners shared with friends, boners on vacation, ghost boners, exploded boners, and even the lack of boners in the scenes where there were no boners. Now, I may be exaggerating, but I'm not. Boners.


When the film goes beyond the boner-dome, the plot follows the Paranormal Activity guide to making films. That being, the idea of filling your movie with sometimes unwatchable footage of annoying people doing the mundane. It also tells the story of a lady having to choose between one meat bag bonehead or another because they want to have sex with her. She is never really asked her opinion on the matter, which becomes moot when you find out her real plan was to use them for sex in an attempt to get a ghost to show up. Then there is the ending, which includes the angry roommate being racistly possessed by the spirit of an Asian prostitute...It's...not good. That's all I am going to say about that.


I am honestly surprised the word "Bro" isn't used more in this. It's a pretty bro humor-filled movie, and I feel like there were some high fives shared over the creation of the boner jokes. That makes me believe that there is a target audience for a movie like this. Still, I think that audience would want to see more nudity but would be okay with the racism, sexism, and plethora of boners. If you start watching Ghost Team One and find yourself laughing at the jokes, you will probably enjoy it a lot more than I did. But, I had enough of its shtick by the end of the first quarter, and it never got better.

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page