top of page

Das Bob Reviews - Underwater



Let me get this straight. An underwater monster movie comes out that features Kristen Stewart running around darkly lit corridors in her underwear. Yet, no one went on to complain about it loudly enough for me to hear? Wait, is everyone okay? I am here if you need to talk about your unfathomed hatred of Kristen Stewart, that or your hatred of the male gaze. I'm a friend like that.


This is the second movie with Mrs. Stewart I have reviewed in a while, and to be honest, while she's not growing on me, I am having a hard time despising her as an actress. She's a solid actress, at least she can hold a scene without making me want to smack a penguin. It probably helps for me to see her in quick and fun romps like Underwater. You know, the kind action monster movies where people are trapped at deep depths and can't escape. But, also don't really have enough plot to make for a serious movie because of giant fish creatures. Yeah, those movies.


Underwater is a tale just like that, but it starts off with a bang and doesn't really let go. Stewart and the survivors of a deep-sea mining rig must find a way across two miles of the ocean floor to some spare escapes pods. As the team battles, quips, and generally complains about the walk, they also learn they are dealing with creatures that the mining rig itself has awakened. Evil fish monsters, to be exact. These creatures are hungry for...um people. It's basic, it doesn't try too hard with science, and just wants to entertain you. Which I feel it did.


You could do a lot worse when looking for a fun movie to kill around ninety minutes within a night. It's got monsters, a quick pace, and a way to complain about using the female form to titillate dirty man men. It also has the lady we all are supposed to dislike because of sparkly vampire sex. That checks off all the boxes, I think.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page