top of page

31 Days of Halloween: Day Thirty - Mandy


The Day before Halloween is here! Devil's night is upon us. A night where pranks and mischief are generally played on the unsuspecting and hapless people of *insert your town name here*. Yet, today is the day we also learn about the people we should not play tricks on...or kidnap their wife. One of those people being Nicolas Cage. Now, I know he is playing characters in his films, but really, is he? Ask yourself this question as the B&E wife kidnapping expert you are. Would you break into Nic Cage's home and kidnap his wife? I didn't think so. So,in celebration of Devil's Night and the release day of this movie. We watch...

Mandy!

 

Das Bobs Tips on Writing Tips #1

You see, after watching upwards of thirty films in a month and having to find something witty and funny to write down is not the easiest thing to do day in and day out. I figured I would throw down some tips, or at least one tip to help you in well...writing tips. I said tip a lot. Okay, take something that everyone knows and turn it on its head while simultaneously making a satirical comment about the world in general or sad trends on social media. That's it! Super easy. It'll come right of the top of your head.

 

Mandy is a revenge film written and directed by Panos Cosmatos. The other film he both wrote and directed, Beyond The Black Rainbow has already been featured in the very first 31 Days of Halloween. It was also the first requested movie for me to watch, so we have history. We weren't a huge fan of the first film here, but Mandy, well Mandy is different.


Nicolas Cage's performance in this movie feels like he is two people. A quiet, and subdued man until the halfway point and then when he starts to lose it. Then, we see the Nic Cage the internet memes know and love. Both halves are great, movie and cage. Still, this movie isn't for everyone as it is a very slow burn homage to the weird neon smoke filled forests of the VHS days.

Chain Saw Countdown

There are some turning points in the history of what we watch, and what is good to watch. I personally think that we are in a bit of a renaissance time period for TV and film as money seems to be being handed out by multiple streaming services just to vie for our watching eyes. Of course I am no expert, but six years ago when I started this October watch-a-thon, I had to scramble and collect films out of bins, or borrow. Now I can't seem to run out. I still have a pile of ten or so DVD's and Blu-rays I had meant to watch this year. Yet, between Netflix, Amazon, and especially Shudder I found myself surrounded by horror without having to leave the house. This doesn't stop me from buying physical copies, as I did with Mandy this morning, but it just lets me expand my watch everything attitude.


Stay tuned tomorrow for the finale and Halloween double feature night. Of course there is still time to prove that the Silver Schiesse shouldn't go to Frankenpimp. Join up and comment, or subscribe for the mailing list, or both. You're you own person.

 

Das Bobs Recommended Cages

The internet has made celebrities of all types melt away or shine brighter. One of these celebs is Nicolas Cage. With his off brand of crazy he has warmed the hearts of the internet, spawning countless memes of his face and his insanity. For me, I always liked him in the high budget low end action movie phase. The Rock, and Face/Off are two of my favorites. Also, for the last while I have a want to re-watch Bringing Out The Dead, where he is a ambulance driver losing his mind. I have no idea why...I just do

 

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page